Mantra

This world is like a snowy mountain that echoes your voice. Whatever you speak good or evil, will somehow come back to you. Therefore, f there is someone who harbours I’ll thoughts about you, saying similarly bad things about I’m will only make matters worse. You will be locked in a vicious circle of maleolent energy. Instead for forty days and nights say and think nice things about that person. E everything will be different at the end of forty days, because you will be different inside. P 211 (this is from 40 Rules of Love by Elif…. Can’t remember her last name just this moment, but I’ll put it in)

The heart and mind build well worn tracks in our being.  Our psyche is like a tired animal following the path of least resistance.  For so long I was so angry.  I was hurt and railed at the injustice of inequality.  I expended more energy racing between anguish and indignation I hardly had a chance to see the world around me.  Changing slowly, inviting me to know more – to be more.

For 40 days and nights, I turned toward kindness, forgiveness, and compassion.  I tried to intervene when I remembered the pain or the unfairness by speaking into the world some goodness. As if by incantation, life began to soften around me.  I didn’t have to be so angry at you anymore, and I could begin to forgive myself.

Time.

 

Leave a Reply

