50 ways to tell a story – the great @cogdog in the house

Now I have been amazed, in awe, and largely confused by the amount of content that some folks produce online.  Jabiz Raisdana, Tim Owens, and, of course Alan Lavine have all astounded me with the amount that they share.  What’s their secret?  Just be where you’re at!  It’s not about putting out a super-polished version of any project, but continually sharing, sharing the process, sharing the moment, sharing the tidbits in mid-creation.  So, I figured I’d take up Alec Couros‘s challenge in class last night and #makesomeartdammit with one of the 50+ ways to tell a story.  I chose tool #31 as our class is ECI831.

It took me about 20 minutes to create this tabblo with the bulk of the time being spent writing and uploading the photos.

onepercentyellow began playing music together on a trip to Goa, India in 2011. Within an hour of Sean Hillaby’s arrival, the duo were booking gigs in the artist-rich landscape of Arambol.

Living in a rural Goan home, onepercentyellow began playing together, recording, and writing songs.

Their highlighted performances include playing to up to 2000 people at the Anjuna night markets and weekly sporting bar performances.

Yes, Goa was a great place. onepercentyellow pictured here during the Holi celebration in India. … See my Tabblo>

15 Responses to “50 ways to tell a story – the great @cogdog in the house”

  1. Hey, i like you comment of just being where you are at. At times I feel overwhelmed with the knowledge and information that we receive in this class and wish that I had more time to devote to it. But I have passed a lot of this information forward to family, friends and fellow teachers. That was one of my goals when I started so I do feel that I am accomplishing some of what I set out to do. I have enjoyed reading about your journey through your blog and I am inspired by your artistry.

  2. Boy, I am tired, I should have edited that before sending it. Sorry

  3. onepercentyellow Says:

    remember! You are where you’re at! Editing be damned… thanks for the comment. I’m finding all this overwhelming as well… the world sure can get noisy in here! Who turned up the volume???

  4. Love it! Your posts always inspire me. I love that you travel and go for what you want, and make it happen. I know that I will continue to follow your blog and Twitter after our class together is over!

  5. You make an excellent point about sharing stories and that is that the process is as important to share as the product. We as educators, I think lose sight of the messiness of process and tend to sweep it away from outside eyes and yet it is this creation and the inevitable mistakes that the most can be learned!

  6. onepercentyellow Says:

    Thanks folks! We’ve certainly been lucky in having amazing people in class! I’m looking forward to keeping up with you all as well. Keep blogging, keep tweeting!

  7. Thanks for showcasing Tabblo. What a great tool! I have found it very freeing to hear more than one of our guest speakers address the importance of sharing without the need for perfection. I now realize I initially assumed putting something out there online was equivalent to publishing, thus it needed to be refined and perfect. Of course if this was really the case there would be so much less shared. I love the idea that when we share something it is negotiated and changed by others. The collaborative sense of the process is so much richer than hammering away on my own trying to carve out the perfect piece to share. Thank you for your post!

  8. I mentioned to Lindsay that this process is like how you eat an elephant – one bite at a time. “Where you are at” is good to remember and to honour the process not just the product.

    Thanks as always for helping me, and others, keep perspective!

  9. I tweeted this post out, but couldn’t fit your user name in.

    I love that quote! That’s basically how I see this course – just sharing, nothing overly polished, but sharing the pursuit of learning together, and hopefully, doing this well beyond this experience.

    Thanks for the inspiration.

    • onepercentyellow Says:

      Alec, I love that about this class. At times I feel like I’m not doing enough, but then I begin to count the hours I have spent reading articles, trying out tools, making friends and SHARING and I realize that I’m actually doing a lot of work for this course, just not the traditional read-what-someone-else-thinks and write-what-someone-else-thinks of the 20-page paper.

      This is a special space you have created. It’s like finding a little corner of kindergarten in the post-secondary world. THIS IS SO IMPORTANT FOR TEACHERS!!! If we can’t remember how fun, engaging, interesting, and awesome the world is, how can we ever get students excited enough to play with knowledge? If we don’t play in public, if we only ever produce perfect artifacts, how can we ever give students the confidence to even try?

      You rock, this class rocks, and I’m sad you’re on sabbatical next year and I’ll have to wait 2 yrs for the next ECI831.

      • “more kindergarten” can become the.education “more cowbell”

        If you are not having fun you are doing the wrong thing. Thanks for all your energy.

  10. love this. we just need to ship more…

    • onepercentyellow Says:

      I love it when you end up on my blog. I am still excited when I think about your comments on my connectivism video. That really meant a lot.

  11. What a joy to come here. uplifted already.

    I, too, have been playing in public courtesy of the other Couros. 🙂

    And this is my reflection on the experience. I love how your post and comments above validates what I said.

    love,
    Malyn

Leave a Reply

