reading in a rhizome

When form meets content, the heavenly chorus meets in perfect harmony.

This week has been about making my edumecation work for me.  After posting my shout-out video to University of Mary-Washington and getting amazing response from those fine folks, I decided to tackle the ECI831 googledoc.  Personally, I prefer having the suggested readings available before our guest speakers arrive in class so that I can more actively engage in the presentation, so I decided to take the blank page as an open invitation to share my reading journey.  I decided to start with Dave Cormier’s 2008 post on Rhizomatic Learning.  As I began reading, my ears alerted me to the fact that the autodj was ruling the#ds106radio stream (likely through some kind of punk or a discussion on the ontology of screaming).  I realized that I had not done my duty in killing the autodj and decided to take a page from @DrGarcia‘s study manual and put out a broadcast monologuing the thoughts swirling in my head.

hey there #eci831, I’m going to read @cormier ‘s post on Rhizomatic learning on #ds106radio tune in if you’re game http://bit.ly/flo4OG
onepercentyello
October 19, 2011
Sure enough, that little signal tweaked another rhizome….
@davecormier really? everyone’s reading about your rhizomes. @onepercentyello publicly reading and reflecting /LIVE on #ds106radio rules!
giuliaforsythe
October 19, 2011
@onepercentyello You were doing some talky talky about my paper today? What it rhizome stuff? is there a recording? I’m working on that now.
davecormier
October 19, 2011
@davecormier bah!! no recording. thought of it after the fact. read out your paper on #ds106radio and commented when ideas struck me.
onepercentyello
October 19, 2011
@onepercentyello I have a weird blog post that i’m turning into a better article (hopefully) http://bit.ly/o9u0ZW how does that look?
davecormier
October 19, 2011
@giuliaforsythe @onepercentyello it’s the choice of reading material that i find particularly noteworthy
davecormier
October 19, 2011
@giuliaforsythe no. i meant it proved she was awesome.
davecormier
October 19, 2011
@davecormier ah. yes. agreed. @onepercentyello is awesome. Have you seen her #eci831 reflection video for this week? http://is.gd/uhfs0B
giuliaforsythe
October 19, 2011
@davecormier @giuliaforsythe I think it proves that @courosa is awesome for #eci831, you’re awesome forthe article and #ds106radio justrules
onepercentyello
October 19, 2011
psssttt….. #eci831 I’m talking to @davecormier before he comes to class next week #howcoolisthat?
onepercentyello
October 19, 2011

(side note!! I just went into the HTML to figure out how to end the table and go back to full left justify! Geekin’ out moment… I’m so easily excited!)

From there, I read Dave’s other post on Community as Curriculum and one on the importance of having a philosophy of education, both at his suggestion, and shared that with the ECI831 googledoc in progress.  I made a bunch of reading notes and took the amazing @giuliaforsythe‘s suggestion of recording my reading/thinking out loud on #ds106radio.  She then pushed me that one step further and asked me to post the recording on my blog with the meta-reflection to go along with it.

This was my first time archiving a #ds106radio cast.  It was super easy (in nicecast it’s just window-archive) and there’s only about 15 minutes of my talking on there (only! jeez! How long will I ramble on!?).  From there I put out a couple songs by independent Alberta artists – Scott Cook, Jesse D and Jacquie B, and Wool on Wolves.

As for the meta-reflection, the process of writing this blog post and creating a storify (thanks to Tannis Emman for boldly going before me) has made me realize that this entire process has happened because of a rhizomatic learning environment.  I need not remind you that in other circumstances, I would have been shut up in my little room with my little books thinking of all this on my own – waiting for my weekly class for the chance to engage fully.  Instead I put out my first reading, get directed by the author to two other salient posts and get pulled along on his journey of rethinking the theory.  Dave even put up his most recent post on our googledoc – giving me yet another opportunity to connect and share in the thinking.  While the comments after mine show that I have missed the context of the “nomad” learner (and given me more to read up on), the process has pushed me to grow just that much more.  Another great link about the possible ways trees communicate, sent by the one and only @jimgroom gave me such a beautiful image to meditate on – those tall trees in the forest are all connected.  When you’re looking up to those who have grown before you, realize that they’ve got the resources, the stuff of life and learning, to share with you.  All you’ve got to do is get back to your roots.

7 Responses to “reading in a rhizome”

  1. Your ability to make connections both personally and professionally never ceases to amaze me – you never simply wait until the information finds you, you actively seek it out and there it is! Learning is no longer confined to books and classroom walls. It really is all about sharing. 😀

  2. This makes me smile. Can I just pass you now? 🙂

    As Kathryn says above, your ability to make these connections is really great. I’m really happy to see that you’ve gone ahead and made these connections, and not waited for me to get around to posting what I might think is useful to read. And of course, most importantly, you’ve connected with our next guest which I think says so much in itself. That’s how this becomes sustainable. Text can be dead. Authors live forever.

  3. Yay, I love this piece of writing, thinking, theorizing, public reading of your emerging ideas. Many, many thanks.

  4. Leslie,
    I’m just catching up on reading all my favourite blogs. This is really great. You really give me too much credit because you were doing the external speech problem solving already but all those nice things you say warms my heart, so thanks!
    Also, because I got to hear you talk about rhizomes before Dave Cormier did his week with #change11 (this week) I had more to think about and consider.

  5. […] Lindballe went on ds106radio a couple weeks ago, did some rhizome reading and reflecting live on the air. The following week Dave presented for Alec Couros’ ECI831 class and I […]

  6. Great reflection! I can totally relate to this observation in particular: “…in other circumstances, I would have been shut up in my little room with my little books thinking of all this on my own – waiting for my weekly class for the chance to engage fully.”

    This is definitely how it all seems to work—we make all these amazing connections and listen to alternate viewpoints that would be impossible in a walled classroom environment where the expertise can be limited.

    I’m impressed with and inspired by all of the things you’ve tried out here!

  7. “I would have been shut up in my little room with my little books thinking of all this on my own – waiting for my weekly class for the chance to engage fully.”

    You’re talking about me! Thanks for this this post and introducing me to rhizomatic learning. Intrigued to learn more

Leave a Reply

