valuing what I do – changing my perceptions of doodles – They’re sketchnotes!

Ever wonder why it takes naming a thing in order to validate it?  It may be lamentable that I sometimes have a hard time seeing the value in something until someone else does, but I’m always happy when it actually comes to pass.  Such is the case for my recent discovery of sketchnotes.  Giulia Forsythe, sketchnotist extraordinaire, tweeted a these two sites with great descriptions of sketchnoting – the process of visually representing the note-taking or thought-making process for later recall and sharing.  Finally, those doodles that I’ve been devoting so much time to – I’m actually meditating on ideas while I colour – have value in and of themselves.  I have seen Giulia’s visual representations and have wondered how the hell she creates those wonderful pictures (don’t even get me started on the animated gifs!).  While my sketchnotes may be in plain ol’ ink and paper, it is the site where my research is serendipitously unfolding itself, and, in the end, I predict they will be key in presenting my reflections on my learning over the course of the term.  Look at that use value!!  In addition, I am always delighted when I take a look at how a drawing unfolds over time and find hidden messages to myself.  Like a good book, I’m excited to see how it turns out!

random inspirations

So thanks to Giulia for giving me the key(words) to validate my doodling and recognizing it for what it really is – WORK!  I mean PLAY! I mean WORK!… um…  It is also because of her impeccable tradition of sharing that I have signed up for my first flickr account so that I, too, can share my sketchnotes.  Letsmakesomeartdammit!

4 Responses to “valuing what I do – changing my perceptions of doodles – They’re sketchnotes!”

  1. I am also a sketching note taker. I came across this site last night while searching for other things( it seems to happen to me a lot). I had never heard of this before so I thought I would share it with you.

    • onepercentyellow Says:

      I have seen this before! It’s amazing and I <3 Sir Ken. Oddly enough, I wasn't able to see my own font-based doodles as something that could be shared until someone that I knew on a more personal basis shared with me. Sometimes things just click at the last moment. Keep up with the art, and thanks for stopping by!

  2. I love Sir Ken too, and I loved your idea of sketch notes for your summary! I was hoping to use art somehow in my summary, but I’m still unsure what to do. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Thanks for the links to the graphic recording sites, Leslie!

  3. Great links, the graphics really personalize the learning process making the sharing so much more transparent.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

